Dr. Othmar K. Paustian

Dr. Othmar K. Paustian

German Patent Attorney • European Patent Attorney • European Trademark and Design Attorney

While Dr. Othmar Paustian mostly sees to the needs of long-term clients who have been trusting his advice as a patent attorney for many years, even first-time clients feel completely at ease in his competent hands. Absolute reliability and a sharp eye on the cost-benefit ratio are just as important to Dr. Paustian as providing precise information in any situation in order to assist his clients in securing their rights.

His contribution to the very foundation of Paustian & Partners is not only his respected name but also his long-standing experience as a managing partner at Boeters & Lieck, the patent law firm from which the roots of Paustian & Partner sprang. In the field of IP law, he has been active in both German as well as European application and authorization practices since the mid-nineties.

Dr. Paustian’s industry-oriented technical competence is based on his activities as a welding engineer and as a design engineer for the T&N Group. His studies of civil engineering at the Ruhr University of Bochum and for his doctorate at the Institute for Steel Construction of the Technical University Braunschweig formed the basis for his now fundamental engineering knowledge and expertise.

H.-Peter Lieck

H.-Peter Lieck

German Patent Attorney • European Patent Attorney • European Trademark and Design Attorney

To many in the IP rights community, Dipl.-Ing. H.-Peter Lieck has made a notable name for himself. His reputation is that of a trademark and patent law expert who knows all the ropes and champions high principles. He is also the co-founder and long-time director of PAVIS e.G., an IP rights management provider.

His focus at Paustian & Partner lies on the application and defense of trademark protection, both nationally and internationally, as well as on the realm of trademark and patent infringements. He also readily draws on his extensive experience when administrating cases of unfair competition and when drafting and negotiating license agreements.

As a patent attorney, his career and interests have aligned squarely with the development of communications technologies from their very beginnings to their present importance in society. His necessary technical background was acquired through his electrical engineering studies and his diploma in communications engineering from the Technical University of Munich as well as his Mathematics and Physics teaching position at the Wofford College in Spartanburg, South Carolina, USA.

Dr. Alexandra Nißl, LL.M.

Dr. Alexandra Nißl, LL.M.

German Patent Attorney • European Patent Attorney • European Trademark and Design Attorney

Industry and Science – Dr. Alexandra Nißl draws on a well-honed combination of comprehensive experience in both areas.

After her technical interest was sparked during her technical drafting training in the operational technology department of Deutsche Steinzeug Cremer & Breuer AG, Dr. Nißl went on to study mechanical engineering at the Technical University of Munich. She laid the focus of her studies on design and construction with emphasis on production technology, especially foundry. After her studies, Dr. Nißl expanded her specialist knowledge in the position of construction engineer responsible for yacht engines at MAN Truck & Bus AG.

After accumulating such industry experience, Dr. Nißl chose to further develop her academic endeavors through the product development chair at the Technical University of Munich. She focused on methods of integrated product development and graduated with her thesis on target cost tracking in the product development process.

This exhaustive technical education – both industrial and scientific – laid the foundation for her training to become a German Patent Attorney and European Patent, Trademark and Design Attorney, which Dr. Nißl further complemented with a master’s degree in European industrial property rights.

Dr. Nißl has been an active voice in the field of industrial property rights since 2005. When working with clients, she puts strong emphasis on comprehensive and individual consultation coupled with a long-term perspective encompassing all facets of industrial property rights.

Dr. Markus Petermann

Dr. Markus Petermann

German Patent Attorney • European Patent Attorney • European Trademark and Design Attorney

Ensuring just the right mix of IP rights, corporate secrecy, market acquisition and a solid focus on core know-how.

Through his multifaceted background in technology, proprietary secrecy and law, Markus Petermann is able to shed light on applicable strategies for protecting technological know-how from various perspectives and expertly guide companies toward specifically targeted solutions.

Based on his comprehensive technical training as a mechanical engineer at the Technical University of Munich and his experience as a project manager in the development of electromechanical vehicle components, he intensively analyzes the possibilities available to technology companies for keeping their know-how secret by means of technical, organizational and strategic means.

His Ph.D. thesis on “Protection of Technological Knowledge in the Capital Goods Industry” resulted from his passion. The implementation of protection concepts against know-how drain was the focus of his consulting activities as managing director of Avalano, Inc.

With his training as a German Patent Attorney and as a European Patent, Trademark and Design Attorney, Petermann expanded his know-how protection expertise into the legal arena, particularly in the area of IP rights.

Since 2011 he has been engaged in the arm of IP law aimed at securing optimal know-how protection subject to the delicate balance between secrecy and the property rights of each client. He previously worked in this field for an IP law firm renowned for patent litigation as well as for Boeters & Lieck, the trademark and patent law firm from which Paustian & Partner originated.

For Petermann, his clients’ business models, their customer relationships, and their value-generating networks provide the key to customized know-how protection services.
His approach to finding just the right kind of know-how protection boils down to:
Know-how protection by all means, but only for the core. Nondisclosure when possible. Property rights when necessary.

Intellectual property is our passion and our dedication. The support we provide in protecting your future technology stems from strong convictions. With scalable services customized to your specific needs. With modern organization, 40 years of experience coupled with fresh young input, and our keen sights set firmly on the future. And with sophistication in law and technology.

Services

Expanding your IP portfolio
Formulating and filing your industrial property rights. All oversight leading up to the grant of your patent or registration of your trademark or design. Defending against oppositions and review proceedings. Invention harvesting and support of your corporate invention culture.
Enforcing your market positioning
Freedom-to-operate analyses and evaluation of potential infringements. Enforcing your industrial property rights in license negotiations and in infringement proceedings. Limiting the scope of third party property rights through oppositions, appeals and nullity actions.
Protecting your core know-how
Supporting the defining and and nondisclosure of your unique innovative features: document confidentiality, employee loyalty, seamless coupling of hardware, software and service. Interplay between nondisclosure and prohibitive rights.
40
years of experience
4
partners
2
generations
1
passion

Büro München

  • +49 89 23 23 659‑0
  • post@paustian.de
  • Oberanger 32
    80331 München

Dr. Othmar K. Paustian

Dr. Othmar K. Paustian

Patentanwalt • European Patent Attorney • European Trademark and Design Attorney

Dr. Othmar Paustian betreut überwiegend Stamm-Mandanten, die schon seit vielen Jahren seiner Beratung als Patentanwalt vertrauen. Auch Mandanten, die zum ersten Mal seinen Rat suchen, spüren schnell, dass sie bei ihm gut aufgehoben sind. Ausnahmslose Zuverlässigkeit und ein scharfer Blick auf das Kosten-Nutzen-Verhältnis sind für ihn ebenso selbstverständlich wie die richtige Auskunft in jeder Situation, um seinen Mandanten zu ihrem Recht zu verhelfen.

In die Gründung von Paustian & Partner bringt er nicht nur seinen guten Namen, sondern auch seine langjährige Erfahrung als geschäftsführender Partner bei Boeters & Lieck ein, der Patentanwaltskanzlei, in der Paustian & Partner seine Wurzeln hat. Im gewerblichen Rechtsschutz ist er seit Mitte der Neunzigerjahre sowohl mit der deutschen als auch mit der europäischen Zulassung tätig.

Paustians industrieorientierte Technikkompetenz basiert auf seinen Kenntnissen als Schweißfachingenieur und auf Tätigkeiten als Konstruktionsingenieur in der T&N-Gruppe. Sein fundiertes Ingenieurswissen hat er sich während eines Studiums des Bauingenieurwesens an der Ruhr-Universität Bochum und im Rahmen seiner Promotion am Institut für Stahlbau der Technischen Universität Braunschweig angeeignet.

H.-Peter Lieck

H.-Peter Lieck

Patentanwalt • European Patent Attorney • European Trademark and Design Attorney

Vielen in der Community des gewerblichen Rechtsschutzes ist Dipl.-Ing. H.-Peter Lieck ein Begriff: sei es als erfahrener und energischer, aber immer fair agierender Marken- und Patentrechtler oder als Mitbegründer und langjähriger Vorstand der PAVIS e.G., eines Dienstleisters für Schutzrechtsverwaltung.

Der Schwerpunkt seiner Tätigkeit bei Paustian & Partner liegt auf der Anmeldung und Verteidigung von Markenschutz im In- und Ausland sowie auf dem Gebiet der Verletzung von Marken und Patenten. Auch in Fragen des unlauteren Wettbewerbs und beim Entwerfen und Verhandeln von Lizenzverträgen kann er auf seine umfassende Erfahrung zurückgreifen.

Die Entwicklung der Kommunikationstechnologien bis hin zu ihrem heutigen gesellschaftlichen Stellenwert hat er als Patentanwalt von den Anfängen weg mitbegleitet. Den nötigen technischen Hintergrund lieferte sein Studium der Elektrotechnik und sein Abschluss als Diplom-Ingenieur der Nachrichtentechnik an der Technischen Universität München ebenso wie seine Lehrtätigkeit für Mathematik und Physik am Wofford College in Spartanburg, South Carolina, USA.

Dr. Alexandra Nissl, LL.M.

Dr. Alexandra Nissl, LL.M.

Patentanwältin • European Patent Attorney • European Trademark and Design Attorney

Praxis und Wissenschaft – Dr. Alexandra Nißl greift auf eine Kombination von eingehenden Erfahrungen in beiden Bereichen zurück.

Nachdem das technische Interesse von Dr. Nißl bei ihrer Ausbildung zur Technischen Zeichnerin der Fachrichtung Maschinenbau im Bereich Betriebstechnik eines Unternehmens der Deutschen Steinzeug Cremer & Breuer AG vollends geweckt war, studierte Dr. Nißl an der Technischen Universität München Maschinenwesen. Den Schwerpunkt ihres Studiums legte sie in den Bereich Entwicklung und Konstruktion mit Vertiefung der Fertigungstechnik und insbesondere des Gießereiwesens. Nach dem Studium baute Dr. Nißl ihre praktischen Fachkenntnisse als Konstruktionsingenieurin bei der MAN Truck & Bus AG im Bereich Yachtmotoren aus.

Nach diesem Praxisabschnitt entschied sich Dr. Nißl für eine wissenschaftliche Weiterentwicklung am Lehrstuhl für Produktentwicklung der Technischen Universität München, in deren Zuge sich sie sich intensiv mit Methoden der Integrierten Produktentwicklung befasste und mit einer Arbeit zur Zielkostenverfolgung im Produktentwicklungsprozess promovierte.

Diese umfangreiche technische Ausbildung – praktisch wie wissenschaftlich – bildete die Basis für die Ausbildung zur deutschen Patentanwältin und zum European Patent, Trademark und Design Attorney, welche Dr. Nißl noch mit dem Masterstudiengang Europäischer Gewerblicher Rechtsschutz ergänzte.

Seit dem Jahr 2005 ist Dr. Nißl nun auf dem Gebiet des Gewerblichen Rechtsschutzes tätig. Bei der Zusammenarbeit mit den Mandanten legt sie großen Wert auf eine umfassende und individuelle Beratung mit langfristiger Perspektive in allen Bereichen des Gewerblichen Rechtsschutzes.

Dr. Markus Petermann

Dr. Markus Petermann

Patentanwalt • European Patent Attorney • European Trademark and Design Attorney

Schutzrechte, Geheimhaltung, Marktbezug, Fokus auf das Kern-Know-how: Durch seinen facettenreichen Hintergrund in Technik, Geheimhaltung und Recht kann Markus Petermann die Know-how-Schutz-Strategien von Technologieunternehmen aus vielen Blickwinkeln beleuchten und gezielt Ergänzungen vorschlagen.

Aufbauend auf seiner fundierten technischen Ausbildung als Maschinenbauingenieur an der TU München und auf seinen Erfahrungen als Projektleiter bei der Entwicklung elektromechanischer Fahrzeugkomponenten hat er intensiv die Möglichkeiten produzierender Unternehmen analysiert, ihr Know-how mit technischen, organisatorischen und wettbewerbsstrategischen Mitteln geheim zu halten.

Seine Doktorarbeit zum „Schutz von Technologiewissen in der Investitionsgüterindustrie“ entstand in diesem Kontext. Die Umsetzung in Schutzkonzepte gegen Know-how-Abfluss war Gegenstand seiner Beratungstätigkeit als Geschäftsführer der Avalano GmbH.

Mit der Ausbildung zum deutschen Patentanwalt und European Patent, Trademark and Design Attorney ergänzte Petermann seine Know-how-Schutz-Kompetenz um die rechtliche Perspektive, insbesondere der Schutzrechte.

Seit 2011 ist er nun im gewerblichen Rechtsschutz mit dem Anspruch tätig, jedem Mandanten im Spannungsfeld zwischen Geheimhaltung und Schutzrechten Möglichkeiten für einen optimalen Know-how-Schutz aufzuzeigen. Stationen dieses Wegs waren die Ausbildung bei einer für Patentstreitverfahren renommierten Patent- und Rechtsanwaltskanzlei und eine freiberufliche Tätigkeit bei der Marken- und Patentrechtskanzlei Boeters & Lieck, in der Paustian & Partner seine Wurzeln hat.

Den Schlüssel für maßgeschneiderte Know-how-Schutz-Dienstleistungen sieht Petermann in den Geschäftsmodellen, Kundenbeziehungen und Wertschöpfungsnetzwerken seiner Mandanten. Zu der Frage nach dem richtigen Schutz ist sein Ansatz:

Know-how-Schutz nur für den Kern, dort aber mit allen Mitteln. Geheimhaltung wenn möglich. Schutzrechte wo nötig.

Geistiges Eigentum ist unsere ​Leidenschaft und unsere Verpflichtung. ​Aus Überzeugung​ helfen wir beim Schutz ​Ihrer​ Zukunftstechnologien. Dazu bieten wir skalierbare Dienstleistungen nach Ihrem Bedarf. Mit moderner Organisation, mit ​40 Jahren Kanzleierfahrung​, mit einer jungen Generation und die Zukunft fest im Blick. ​Kompetent in Recht und Technik.

Service

Ausbau ihres Schutzrechtsportfolios
Ausarbeiten und Anmelden Ihrer Schutzrechte. Betreuen bis zu Erteilung bei Patenten und bis zur Eintragung bei Marken und Designs. Verteidigen gegen Einsprüche und Widersprüche. Invention Harvesting und Unterstützung beim betrieblichen Erfindungswesen.
Durchsetzung ihrer Marktpositionierung
Freedom-to-operate-Analysen und Einschätzung möglicher Verletzungen. Durchsetzung Ihrer Schutzrechte in Lizenzverhandlungen und in Verletzungsverfahren. Einschränkungen von Schutzrechten Dritter in Einsprüchen, Widersprüchen und Nichtigkeitsverfahren.
Sicherung Ihres Kern‑Know‑hows
Unterstützen bei Abgrenzung und Geheimhaltung betrieblicher Alleinstellungsmerkmale: Dokumentensicherheit, Mitarbeiterloyalität, Verzahnung von Hardware, Software und Service. Interaktion von Geheimhaltung und Verbietungsrechten.
40
Jahre Erfahrung
4
Partner
2
Generationen
1
Leidenschaft

Büro München

  • +49 89 23 23 659‑0
  • post@paustian.de
  • Oberanger 32
    80331 München